This is it. The list of everything you could possibly want to know about konjac, the not-so-secret plant-based ingredient we use to give Zellee its fun jel texture without having to use gelatin. It’s a vegan miracle!
- Konjac is a plant that grows in parts of Asia.
- It is pronounced con-jack. Not to be confused with cognac, pronounced kown-yak. Konjac for everyone, cognac for the adults once the kids are in bed.
- Konjac is also known as amorphophallus, but that’s a lot harder to say (and spell), so we’re sticking to konjac.
- Konjac is used as a gelatin substitute and to thicken or add texture to foods.
- It’s known for its starchy corm.
- If you read corn above, you read that wrong. The corm is part of the stem that grows underground and is used to make a rich source of soluble dietary fiber.
- Konjac is used in traditional Japanese cuisine and Chinese medicine.
- Konjac is a pretty cool looking plant.
- Are you still reading this bulleted list about Konjac? Cool. It’s over now.